

National Association of State Energy Officials

August 19, 2020

Speaker Nancy Pelosi 1236 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Majority Leader Steny Hoyer 1705 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Majority Leader Hoyer

Attached please find support letters on behalf of the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) for bipartisan bills approved by the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.

NASEO supports early favorable floor action on these important bills as they will promote the research, development, demonstration, and deployment of innovative technologies to advance the security, resiliency, and economic opportunity associated with our Nation's energy infrastructure. We are especially appreciative of the bills that draw connections to NASEO members, the 56 governor-designated energy officials from the states, territories, and the District of Columbia, who play instrumental roles in emergency response planning, technology commercialization, and economic development at the state and local level in partnership with the U.S. Department of Energy, industry, and research community.

Thank you for your consideration, and please contact NASEO General Counsel Jeff Genzer (jcg@dwgp.com) or me, NASEO Executive Director David Terry (dterry@naseo.org), with questions or for more information.

Sincerely,

David Terry, NASEO Executive Director

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair ANDREW MCALLISTER California

Vice Chair KELLEY SMITH BURK *Florida*

Treasurer MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

Secretary JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Past Chair ROBERT JACKSON Michigan

Parliamentarian JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

PATRICK WOODCOCK Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG Maryland

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

SUMESH ARORA Mississippi

MICHELLE GRANSEE Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE Illinois

WILL TOOR Colorado

JOE FRANCIS Nebraska

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN Idaho

Affiliates' Co-Chairs

ELIZABETH BEARDSLEY U.S. Green Buildings Council

MATTHEW MORRISSEY Ørsted

Executive Director DAVID TERRY

General Counsel JEFFREY C. GENZER