

National Association of State Energy Officials

June 7, 2021

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader, U.S. Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Chairman Manchin U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader, U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Ranking Minority Member Barrasso U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Samuel Walsh, General Counsel, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)

On behalf of the members of the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), the governor-designated State Energy Offices from the 56 states, territories, and District of Columbia, we support the confirmation of Samuel Walsh as the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) General Counsel.

Mr. Walsh will bring unique expertise and exceptional leadership at the helm of the talented and dedicated team of DOE's Office of the General Counsel. Throughout his career, Mr. Walsh has addressed a wide range of critical energy policy and legal issues. His understanding of complex energy infrastructure issues and energy policy and regulatory opportunities across a range of sectors have afforded him a unique ability to find novel solutions to vexing energy challenges. He also demonstrated his expertise and ability as Deputy General Counsel for Energy Policy at DOE from 2014-2016. Moreover, his experience representing clients before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission brings a critical resource to DOE at a time of historic energy market transition.

NASEO applauds the selection of Samuel Walsh to lead DOE's Office of the General Counsel and encourages the Committee to move quickly on his confirmation.

Best regards,

David Terry, Executive Director, NASEO CC: U.S. State Energy Directors

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair KELLEY SMITH BURK *Florida*

Vice Chair JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Treasurer MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

Secretary WILL TOOR Colorado

Past Chair ANDREW MCALLISTER California

Parliamentarian JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

PATRICK WOODCOCK Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG Maryland

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

SUMESH ARORA Mississippi

MICHELLE GRANSEE Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE Illinois

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN Idaho

EDDY TREVINO Texas

DAN LLOYD Montana

Affiliates' Co-Chairs ELIZABETH BEARDSLEY U.S. Green Buildings Council

Executive Director DAVID TERRY

General Counsel JEFFREY C. GENZER